Lahar

February 20, 2007

Science Merit Badges!

Filed under: Uncategorized — by lahar @ 6:04 am

ORDER OF THE SCIENCE SCOUTS OF EXEMPLARY REPUTE AND ABOVE AVERAGE PHYSIQUE

Since everyone’s doing it, I might as well follow suit. Unfortunately, as a junior proto-scientist in a small and somewhat theoretical field who doesn’t do work that gets his hands dirty, I don’t have too many of these which count, but at least it’s a start 🙂

Talking Science

MacGyver: For the time back when I worked at a well-known clothing retailer when one of my co-workers took a cash till key with her to Chicago, leaving me to jimmy the lock of the thing with a paperclip. (I know it’s a bit of a stretch, since it’s not strictly science-y )

Special Auxiliary Child Member of the Order of the Science Scouts: Or, at least I used to be. It’s not like you can have the badges you earned a long time ago taken away, right?

I bet I know more computer languages than you, and I’m not afraid to talk about it: I’d list them, but I don’t feel like bragging right now.

I will crush you with my math prowess: After all, I’m the one who skips out on work to attend courses over in the pure mathematics department.

I’ve done science with no concievable practical application: Well, lee vortices look pretty…

I’m a scientist who is fundamentally opposed to administrative duties: Probably mandatory.

I’m into telescopes astro, Level I: Another one from way back when I had a little telescope of my own.

Statistical linear regression: Hey, I know what that means! Haven’t used it in a while, though.

Any other takers?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

